Get a Library Card

"Get a Card"

You can obtain a library card by registering in person or online. 

Any resident of California can receive a Riverside County Library System card. Apply for a card at any Library location, including our mobile resource vans.
To get a card, you will need to show either a valid California Driver License with a current address, or two forms of identification, one showing who you are and the other indicating your current mailing address in California. Parents or legal guardians must sign for children's cards. Non-residents of California can obtain a library card for a $10 annual fee.

Types of Cards

Adult California Residents: This card can be used at any Riverside County Library System location, and for online resources. Cards must be renewed every 3 years.

Children: Children 15 and under may obtain a library card by returning an application form signed by a parent or legal guardian. Financial responsibility for the library card of a minor falls to the adult that registers and signs for the card. 

Internet Only: Visitors are allowed to apply for an Internet Only card in order to use Library computers. This card can not be used to check out materials. The Internet Only card does not require address verification.

Out of State Residents: Residents who do not live in California are required to pay for an out-of-state card unless they can show proof of a permanent second home (not business) in California. Out of state visitors may purchase a library card for $10. This card must be renewed every year.

Children in Foster Care: Children who are part of County Out-Of-Home Care receive special privileges through this library card.

eCards: This virtual card will give you free access to the library's digital collections, including eBooks, eAudiobooks, eMagazines and much more. Sign up for an eCard (en Español

Visit your nearest RCLS library branch with your ID and proof of address to convert your eCard to a full service card, giving you access to books, DVDs, and more!

Please read our eCard FAQs

Lost card

The first card you receive is free. If you lose or damage your card, you can obtain a replacement card for $1.00. Please report a lost card immediately, as you may be liable for the first $50 in fines.